The formation of the Socialist Yuvjan Sabha (SYS) as a youth front of the Socialist Party (India) was announced at a meeting of the National Council of SP(I) which was held in New Delhi on 21st August, 2011. Dr. Abhijit Vaidya was entrusted the responsibility to lead SYS.

Neeraj Singh, Niranjan Mahato, Dr. Hemlata and George Jacob were declared as the members of the national executive of SYS. Mr. Niraj Kumar was appointed national president of SYS in the National Convention of SPI held in Lucknow in November 2016.

Bandana Pandey, Nishchay Mhatre, Lijoy Thomas and Gautam Preetam were appointed as general sectaries and Lipan Saha as secretary.